Some old things, some new things, some RECIPES

There’s been a bit of a February lull in my cooking, but some things did happen while I was gone. And, since everyone’s been complaining about this, there are some recipes in this post!

Most notably I made cod croquettes, which are my all time favorite food, but which I’ve never made. After looking through every book and blog and not finding a recipe I really like, I came up with my own recipe, and I highly recommend it (this one fed 5 hungry girls, and I still have half a batch of croquettes frozen in my fridge). This recipe is not difficult, but it takes foresight, so it’s a perfect weekend project if you’re planning a meal of tapas.

Pilar’s Croquettas de Bacalao
Soaked 1 lb. salted cod overnight in cold water. You want to switch the water at least 3 times so that you get all the salt out. In the morning, cook the fish in whole milk, about 20 minutes until it’s soft but not falling apart. Drain and flake by hand (and take off any skin that might be left on the fish. Set aside, and make mashed potatoes– which is to say, boil some potatoes. I used 2 large potatoes, peeled and boiled. I mashed them by hand, added some salt and pepper and butter, and when that cooled, you add in the fish. At this point, you’re good to go, everything is cooked, and this mixture is dangerously delicious on it’s own, so try it and adjust seasoning as needed.
When you’re ready to fry these puppies, shape them into either balls or little sausages, dip in egg and roll in breadcrums (which you can season with some salt and pepper) and fry in veggie oil until golden brown. Careful, these are addictive.

About a week later, I went to my first superbowl party ever. I made onion dip, which I thought was no biggie, until I found out that the recipe called for:

That is 5 lbs. of onion, and one serving of carpal tunnel chopping those up

But they were very pretty 80 minutes later

You might want to half the recipe, because it makes this much dip

Finally, just yesterday, I made cinnamon buns for the first time ever. I don’t really like cinnamon, but who doesn’t love cinnamon buns? These are surprisingly easy, considering that they require you to make yeast dough, and are perfect for a brunch or a weekend breakfast. This recipe came from Nigella Lawson, via Butterflyfood. One thing about these, they photograph BEAUTIFULLY.

2 thoughts on “Some old things, some new things, some RECIPES

Leave a Reply

