Summer loving

Years ago, when I first went to the New Haven’s farmers market, and first saw heirloom tomatoes, I ended up putting them on a pizza, which I still remember vividly. Luckily, I have found an heirloom (and otherwise) soulmate in the lovely Ms. Kate House, with whom I made this heirloom laden meal last night. She is a fantastic sous-chef, a friend of the first rate, and a soon-to-be guest blogger.

I forgot my nice lens at home, so these aren’t the best pictures, but you get the idea.

Portrait of Duke Thunderpaw and heirlooms

These beautiful raspberries were crushed with some nectarines (not pictured) and this deliciously colorful mash then went in the bottom of champagne glasses and covered with Prosecco. A House+Hillรก original. Highly recommended.

We also made some actual food, like this incredibly delicious but poorly photographed salad.

The inspiration came from my very good friends Liba and Micah’s wedding. The two are delectable foodies, and at their wedding they served an incredibly blood orange and avocado salad. We replaced the citrus for red grapefruit, threw in some shallots, salted and olive oiled, and voila, you have what is quite possibly the best summer salad out there.

I’m ashamed to admit that we used store bought dough, but I will say that of the few things that I feel are okay shortcuts, Trader Joe’s pizza dough is one of them. We made 2 pizzas (to accomodate some lactose intolerance), one with goat cheese:

One with farmer’s cheese:

Heirloom plenty

2 thoughts on “Summer loving

  1. Hi Loosha,

    Um, can I come down to D.C. so you can cook for me?… It would be well worth the 6 hour R/T. Hope you’re well. Let me know if you’re in NYC… Coffee perhaps?

    j

Leave a Reply

